Adamawa: Perform or I throw you out – Fintiri tells new commissioners

Governor Ahmadu Fintiri of Adamawa State has inaugurated his cabinet with a charge to work diligently and produce results or be thrown out of office.

The governor gave the charge on Thursday during the swearing-in of 24 commissioners who were approved for him last week by the state House of Assembly.

Fintiri said during the swearing-in ceremony at the Banquet Hall of the Government House in Yola, “We are setting up a governance delivery machinery with key performance indicators that will periodically be used to measure you.

“We are not taking anything less than the best. If at any time your performance is found to be below our standard best in the exercise of your duties, I will not hesitate to replace you.”

DAILY POST reports that Governor Ahmadu Fintiri had nominated his commissioners last month, on July 27, to the state House of Assembly which last Thursday confirmed the nominees.

Among the confirmed nominees who were sworn in Thursday were Adamu Atiku, who was the Commissioner for Works in Fintiri’s first term and who retains the portfolio, Dr Umar Pella who was the Commissioner of Information but is now to head the Ministry of Education, and Abdullahi Prambe who headed the Community & Rural Infrastructure ministry but is now Commissioner for Housing Development.

Among the brand new commissioners are three women: Mary Augustina Wandhamiya, Commissioner for Finance;
Mrs Nedo Geoffery Kofulto, Commissioner for Information & Strategy; and Wunfe Anthony, Commissioner for Women & Social Development.

The other commissioners sworn in Thursday include Wali Yakubu, for Youth Development; John Ishaya Dabari (Commerce, Trade & Industry), Usman Abdullahi (Special Duties), Tijani Maksha (Livestock & Fishery), Prof Finchiwa Jatau (Agriculture), Joan Haggai Sahma (Land & Survey); Ibrahim Yayaji (Local Government), and Felix Tangwami Health & Human Services).

The others are Iliya James (Entrepreneurship Development), Bello Hamman Diram (Reconstruction, Reintegration, and Rehabilitation), Ibrahim Haruna (Mineral Resources), Kalamu Musa Mohammed (Transport Development), Aloysius Babadoke (Culture & Tourism), Titus Solomon (Rural Infrastructure & Community Development), Anthony Wunfe (Budget & Planning), Mohammed Sadiq (Energy & Natural Resources), and Ayuba Audu Tanko (Water Resources).

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *