APC Bars Journalists From Covering Screening Of Tinubu, Lawan, Amaechi, Others

By Tunde John

Journalists have been stopped from covering the All Progressives Congress screening exercise for its presidential aspirants, Punch has reported. 

The exercise held behind closed-door amid tight security on Monday at the Hilton Transcorp Hotel in Abuja ahead of the presidential convention slated for June 6. 

As of the time of this report, it was gathered that former Minister of State for Education, Chukwuemeka Nwajiuba and a number of other undisclosed presidential aspirants had been screened. 

The exercise, which was earlier postponed penultimate week, was conducted by a seven-man Presidential Screening Committee headed by a former National Chairman of the party, John Oyegun. 

The of presidential aspirants to be screened include: National Leader of the party, Asiwaju Bola Tinubu; Vice President Yemi Osibanjo; former Minister of Transportation Rotimi Amaechi; former Minister of Development, Sen. Godswill Akpabio; former Minister of Science, Technology and Innovation, Ogbonnaya Onu; former Imo State Governor, Sen. Rochas Okorocha; and former Ogun State Governor, Sen. Ibikunle Amosu. 

Others are Pastor Tunde Bakare; Cross River Governor, Prof. Ben Ayade; his Ebonyi counterpart, Gov. David Umahi; Chairman, Governors’ Forum, Kayode Fayemi; former Senate President, Sen. Ken Nnamani; Kogi State Governor, Yahaya Bello; Jigawa State Governor, Mohammed Abubakar; and former Zamfara State Governor, Sen. Ahmed Yerima. 

Other aspirants are Ajayi Borroffice; the only female aspirant, Mrs Uju Ohanenye; Pastor Nicholas Nwagbo; former Speaker of House of Representatives, Dimeji Bankole; Senate President, Ahmed Lawan; former Minister of Information, Ikeobasi Mokelu; and Mr Tein Jack Rich.”

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *