Extra-judicial Killing: Okowa Constitutes 8-man Enquiry

By Ogechi Okorie

Abuja The Delta State Government has constituted an eight-member Judicial Panel of Enquiry to investigate allegations of police brutality and extra-judicial killings in the state.

The panel which was approved by Governor Ifeanyi Okowa will receive and investigate complaints of police brutality and extra–judicial killings in the state from victims of the disbanded Special Anti–Robbery Squad (SARS) or any other police unit.

The panel has Justice Celestina Ogosi (Rtd) as its Chairman and Mr. Omamuzo Erebe as its Secretary. Other members of the panel are AIG David Igbodo (rtd.) and Mr. Harrison Gwamnishu representing the youths.

Others are: Comrade Godwin Oyovweadjebore representing students; Mr. Freedom Atsepoyi; Ambassador Eris Jewo–Ibi, representing civil society groups; and Mr Nicholas Osadolor representing the Human Rights Commission. #ENDSARS

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *