Shehu Sani kicks as Tinubu appoints Badaru as Defence Minister

By Chris Udochukwu

In view of the level of insecurity facing the country at the moment, Rights activist, Senator Shehu Sani has expressed reservations over President Bola Tinubu’s appointment of Mohammed Badaru as Minister of Defence,

Senator Shehu Sani who was Senator that represented Kaduna Central Senatorial District at the 8th National Assembly, said he thought the Defence Minister should be a retired Military officer with experience and records of accomplishments. Adding that at a time like this, that portfolio shouldn’t be just political.

The former federal lawmaker stated this when he took to his verified twitter handle @ShehuSani shortly after Tinubu assigned ministerial portfolios to the 45 nominees screened by the Senate before they embarked on their long recess last week.

The tweet reads:

“In view of the security challenges faced by this country, I thought the Defence Minister should be a retired Military officer with experience and records of accomplishments. That office shouldn’t be just political especially at this time.”

Recall that Mohammed Badaru Abubakar was former Governor of Jigawa State from 2015 to 2023.

He was born in 29 September 1962 and attended Ahmadu Bello University from 1981–1985 as well as Babura Central Primary School in 1970,

Below are the ministers and portfolios:

Minister of Art, Culture and the Creative Economy – Hannatu Musawa
Minister of Defence – Muhammad Badaru
Minister of State Defence – Bello Matawalle
Minister of State Education – Yusuf T. Sunumu
Minister of Housing and Urban Development – Ahmed Dangiwa
Minister of State, Housing and Urban Development – Abdullahi Gwarzo
Minister of Budget and Economic Planning – Atiku Bagudu
Minister of Environment and Ecological Management – Kaduna
Minister of State, FCT – Mairiga Mahmud
Minister of State, Water Resources and Sanitation – Bello Goronyo
Minister of Agriculture and Food Security – Abubakar Kyari
Minister of Education – Tahir Momoh
Minister of Interior – Sa’idu Alkali
Minister of Foreign Affairs – Yusuf Tuggar
Coordinating Minister of Health and Social Development –Ali PAto
Minister of Police Affairs – Ibrahim Gaidam
Minsiter of State, Steel Development – U MAIgari Ahmadu
Minister of Steel Development – Shuaibu Audu
Minister of Information National Orientation – Muhammed Idris
Attorney General of Federal and Minister of Justice – Lateef Fagbemi
Minister of Labour and Employment – Simon Lalong
Minister of State, Police Affairs – Imman Suleiman Ibrahim
Minister of Special Duties and Intergovernmental Affairs – Zephianiah Jisalpo
Minister of Water Resources and sanitation – Joseph Utsev
Minister of State, Agriculture and Food Security – Aliyu Sabi Abdullah
Minister of Aviation and Aerospace Development, Festus Keyamo
Minister of Youth, Abubakar Momoh
Minister of Humanitarian Affairs and Poverty Alleviation, Betta Edu
Minister of State, Gas Resources, Ekperikpe Ekpo
Minister of State, Petroleum Resources, Heineken Lokpobiri
Minister of Sports Development, John Enoh
Minister of Federal Capital Territory, Nyesom Wike.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *