Belewa, Mandela, Obasanjo Nominated For African Leadership Awards

Abuja – Former Nigerian President Olusegun Obasanjo; President of Ghana, Nana Akuffo-Addo; former interim President of Tunisia, Mahamad Ennaceur, have been nominated for the African Leadership Award.

Similarly, the first Prime Minister of Nigeria, Tafawa Balewa; the late President of South Africa, Nelson Mandela; the late President of Ghana Jerry Rawlings; and former Chairman of the Truth and Reconciliation Commission, South Africa, Desmond Tutu, have also been nominated for Posthumous Elites Heroes award.

The Prestigious Elites Organisations Board announced this in a statement issued by the Executive Chairman, Mr Uwakhemen Festus on behalf of the governing council, on Friday in Abuja.

Festus said the names were carefully selected through due process.

He also stated that the first award recipients would be inducted into the African Prestigious Elites Leaders Hall of Fame and Personality Award respectively, and that the nominated recipients approved by the organization’s advisory board would be inducted into the ‘Africa Highest Honour Award as nomination letters were being sent out to them.

He listed other nominees for the African Prestigious Elite Leaders Hall of Fame category to include, Adly Mahmoud Mansour, former President of Egypt, and Jose’ Mario Vaz, former President of Guinea-Bissau.

Obasanjo contributed to Nigeria’s crisis, he should mind his utterances –Femi Adesina
“Also nominated for Posthumous Elites Heroes award are; Nnamdi Azikiwe, first President of Nigeria; John Mills, former President of Ghana; Musa Yar’adua former President of Nigeria, M.K.O Abiola and Shehu Shagari.

“The governing council also nominated great African entrepreneurs who have contributed their quota through job creation, innovations, manufacturing, and humanitarian support across Africa and for Africans.”

He also listed the nominees to be inducted into AHHA as African Prestigious Elite Personality to include; Abdul Rabiu, BUA Group of Nigeria, Innocent Chukwuma, Innoson Group of Nigeria and Sir Sam Jonah, Helios Tower of Ghana,

Others are Alhaji Abdulmunaf Sarina, Azman Group of Nigeria, Herman Mashaba, Black Like Me of South Africa and Patricia Diaby, Plot Enterprise Group of Ghana who is the first woman to be inducted into the Africa highest honour.

Also to be inducted are Dele Momodu, Ovation Magazine; Ibrahim Mahama, Dzata Cement of Ghana; Nduka Obaigbena, Thisday Media Group of Nigeria and Patrice Motsepe, African Rainbow Minerals of South Africa amongst others.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *