Bukar Aji Chairs 37-Man  Tripartite Committee On National Minimum Wage As Inauguration Holds Tuesday (See Full List)

By Chris Udochukwu

The Federal Government is set to inaugurate a 37-man Tripartite Committee on National Minimum Wage with a mandate to recommend a new National Minimum Wage for the Country.

The planned inauguration of the Committee, to be chaired by Alhaji Bukar Goni Aji, former Head of the Civil Service of the Federation, followed  the approval of President Bola Ahmed Tinubu.

The inauguration is scheduled to hold on Tuesday, 30th January, 2024 by 12:00 noon at the Council Chamber, Presidential Villa, State House, Abuja, according to Segun Imohiosen, Director, Information at the office of the Secretary to the Government of the Federation.

Members of the  Committee are drawn from the Federal Government, State Government, Private Sector and the Organised Labour.

They  are as follows:
Federal Government: Nkeiruka Onyejeocha, Minister of State, Labour and Employment (Representing Hon. Minister of Labour and Employment);  Mr. Wale Edun, Minister of Finance & Coordinating Minister of the Economy; Alhaji Atiku Bagudu,  Minister of Budget Economic Planning; Dr. (Mrs) Yemi Esan, Head of the Civil Service of the Federation; Dr. Nnamdi Maurice Mbaeri, Permanent Secretary, GSO. OSGF and Ekpo Nta, Esq, Chairman/CEO, NSIWC – Member/Secretary.

State Government: Alh. Mohammed Umar Bago, Governor, Niger State- representative from North Central;  Sen. Bala Mohammed, Governor Bauchi State- representative from North East;  Alh. Umar Dikko Radda, Governor Katsina State- representative from North  West; Prof. Charles Soludo, Governor, Anambra State- representative from the South East; Sen. Ademola Adeleke, Governor, Osun State- representative from South West;  Mr. Otu Bassey Edet, Governor, Cross River State- representative from South South.

Nigeria Employers’ Consultative Association (NECA): Adewale-Smatt Oyerinde, Director-General, NECA; Mr. Chuma Nwankwo; Mr. Thompson Akpabio.

Nigeria Association of Chambers of Commerce, Industry, Mines and Agriculture (NACCIMA): Asiwaju (Dr) Michael Olawale-Cole, National President;  Hon. (Dr) Ahmed Rabiu, National Vice President and Chief Humphrey Ngonadi (NPOM), National Life President.

National Association of Small and Medium Enterprise (NASME):  Dr. Abdulrashid Yerima, President & Chairman of Council; Hon. Theophilus Nnorom Okwuchukwu.

Private Sector representative; Dr. Muhammed Nura Bello, Zonal Vice President, North West

Manufacturers Association of Nigeria (MAN) :
Mrs. Grace Omo-Lamai, Human Resource Director, Nigerian Breweries; Segun Ajayi-Kadir, Director-General, MAN; Lady Ada Chukwudozie, Managing Director, Dozzy Oil and Gas Limited.

Organised labour:
Nigeria Labour Congress (NLC):
Comrade Joe Ajaero, President, NLC; Comrade Emmanuel Ugboaja, Comrade Prince Adeyanju Adewale; Comrade Ambali Akeem Olatunji; Comrade Benjamin Anthony and Prof. Theophilius Ndukuba.

Trade Union Congress of Nigeria (TUC):
Comrade (Engr) Festus Osifo, President,  Comrade Tommy Etim Okon, PhD, Deputy President I, TUC; Comrade Kayode Surajudeen Alakija, Deputy President II; Comrade Jimoh Oyibo, Deputy President. III; Comrade Nuhu A. Toro, Secretary-General and Comrade Hafusatu Shuaib, Chairperson Women Comm.

Members are advised to be early to process their clearance at the Security Gate and should be seated at the Council Chamber by 11.30 am.
In addition, a shuttle bus will be available at the Pilot Gate to convey members to the venue.

Members of the Committee are to contact the Head of the Secretariat, Mr. Chiadi Adighiogu, Director (Compensation) in the National Salaries, Incomes and Wages Commission for information.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *