FCT Coaches Election: I’m Happy To Conduct A Rancour-free Election – Abimbola

……As Bartholomew emerges Chairman

By Joan Nnenna Iwuchukwu

Abuja (Precise Post) – The chairman of the just-concluded FCT Football Coaches Association election, Coach Samuel Abimbola said he is a happy man for presiding over a rancour-free election.

He stated this while speaking to some Sports Writers after the election which took place on Saturday at the Kwalika Garden, Area 1, Garki, Abuja.

The former Assistant Coach of U17 National Team said he is so happy to conduct a rancour-free election as against what was envisaged in some quarters.

He however commended the President of the Association, Coach Ladan Bosso and other stakeholders who assisted in ensuring that the election was successful.

It will be recalled that the election was postponed indefinitely after some group of persons were trying to hijack the election.

Meanwhile, Coach David Bartholomew was elected as the chairman of the Association after he defeated Coach Bala Nikyu by 30 to 10 votes in an election that has 40 delegates in attendance.

Coach Bartholomew who expressed his happiness assured his colleagues that all he promised in his manifesto would be carried out especially the training and retraining of coaches in the territory.

Also on the board of the FCT Football Coaches are:
Mansur Abdullahi as Vice Chairman 1; Agbo Alex as Vice Chairman II; Gabriel Omatiga as Secretary; Ameh Sunday Lawrence as Training Officer while Yusuf Jibrin Kenny emerged as the Assistant Training Officer.

Others are: Bilikisu Tijani as the treasurer while Adana Nwaneri is the new Welfare Officer. Benny Godspower Mary is the Financial Secretary; James Dogo is the new P.R.O; Jonathan Simon is the Provost while Tanko Paul completes the list as the Auditor.

Meanwhile, the position of the Assistant Secretary will be contested for again after Tony Olowonubi failed to get the required percentage as an unopposed candidate. He got only 14 against 26 invalid votes.

The new executive has since been sworn in by Barrister Audu Abdullahi Lawal, who is also a member of the FCT football association coach and electoral body that conducted the election.

Follow Us on Social Media for Latest news

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *