Imo, Kogi: Nigerians want APC to continue ruling, says Ganduje; congratulates Uzodimma, Ododo

ABUJA- Senator Abdullahi Ganduje, the All Progressives Congress national chairman, has congratulated Governor Hope Uzodimma on his reelection in Saturday’s governorship election.

Mr Ganduje said this in a statement signed by his spokesman Edwin Olofu. 

He commended the Kogi electorate for electing Ahmed Ododo to succeed Governor Yayaha Bello. Mr Ganduje said the victories of Messrs Uzodimma and Ododo reinforced that Nigerians prefer APC to other parties.

The APC chair added that the ruling party’s victory in Imo and Kogi underlined that the Nigerians appreciate the delivery of democracy dividends by Messrs Uzodimma and Bello.

“What gladdens me about the victory of the APC in both Kogi and Imo states is that Nigerians are appreciative of good governance and they want continuity in peace and sustainable growth in their states,” stated Mr Ganduje. “As a progressive party, we will always live up to our promises to deliver good governance.”

The former Kano governor added, “The people of Imo and Kogi States can be rest assured that Uzodimma would sustain his developmental strides in the state while Ododo would consolidate the enviable legacies of Gov. Bello.”

Mr Ganduje urged opposition political parties to accept their defeat in good faith.

“You are true democrats. The truth is that we are all winners at the end of the day. Without a viable opposition, there won’t be contestations and democracy,” Mr Ganduje noted and urged them to support Messrs Uzodimma and Ododo to move Imo and Kogi forward.

“You all fought a good battle. As the saying goes, there will always be another chance to test your level of acceptability among the electorate,” said Mr Ganduje

Mr Uzodimma scored 540,308 votes to defeat the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) candidate, Samuel Anyanwu, who scored 71,503 votes to come second. The Labour Party governorship candidate, Athan Achonu, came third with 64,081 votes.

Mr Ododo won the Kogi governorship election with 446,237 votes, defeating his Murtala Ajaka of the Social Democratic Party (SDP), who had 259,052, and Dino Melaye of the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP), who polled 46,362 votes.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *